The Artistic Process

DrunkAs an artist I think it would make sense to have an artist’s statement about the kind of process I go through when making comics or paintings or illustrations. I haven’t really thought about why I create, mostly because I’m just too busy creating. I have about 15 – 20 projects going in my mind or on paper in the process and not enough time to build them myself. The more pressing ones or possibly more financially driven ones take priority and the rest kind of get sidelined.

I think when I go to work making something I am usually trying one of three things; I am trying to take a vision or idea in my head and share it with other people. I am experimenting with a new medium or collection of ideas, or I am trying really hard to push through the endless boring stuff to get to the good stuff (I’ll explain this in a second).

The first two are fine and dandy; once I get building its hard for me to stop. The idea or experiment I’m exploring usually will find a conclusion and I’ll be satisfied. I will either be happy with it or conclude these colors, shapes, etc. just aren’t working and paint over it all and start over later.

The “endless boring stuff I just need to get done in order to get to the good stuff” is when I am writing a comic book or making an animation and I find myself filling in scenes in between the scenes I really want to make. So for example in The Town of Tymes Karen and Teddy go from blowing up Bad Teddies on the steps of the courthouse to later attacking a tank covered in Bad Teddies. But in between those scenes a lot of other stuff has to happen, and that needs to be drawn, edited, and takes a ton of time. The whole time I am drawing those scenes I am thinking to myself “SHIT, I just wish I could draw the good stuff! That would be time better spent”

This is something I need to work on, especially with my comics. How is an audience going to enjoy the in between stuff if I don’t even appreciate it? So that’s something I’ve been working on lately; taking the mundane and infusing it with more interest, chaos, and fun. And hopefully it will make for a happier artist and a better story.

One thought on “The Artistic Process

  1. Agreed. I’m a fan of character-driven stories (over plot-driven stories). Slower moments are ideal places to develop the interest in your characters. The real challenge is finding the unique characters in the first place. Once they take shape, they’re more of a joy to play with.
    Have you heard of “Writing Excuses”, the podcast? It views story-building as a craft, and is very encouraging.

    I like your style. Your drawings are creative and beautiful.
    As a Survivor fan who enjoyed watching you in Micronesia, I was mildly excited to learn you are an illustrator, and then terribly excited to learn you are a very gifted and dedicated one. Thanks!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.